Tag Archives: synthpop

The Decemberists Announce New Album “I’ll Be Your Girl,” Release Song “Severed”

The Decemberists have announced their new album, I’ll Be Your Girl, which is scheduled for release on March 16 via Capitol Records. The 11-track album was recorded in Portland, Oregon with producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Kimbra) and once again features artwork from Caron Ellis.

“The songs tend to the darker, more absurdist side of things — I mean, how can you blame us — and features a lot of nice vintage synth work by Jenny and Chris, some heavy drumming from Mr. Moen and, of course, the sort of baroque bass work you’ve come to expect from the former Mr. Lincoln High, Nate Query,” the band released in a statement. “All in all, everyone acquitted themselves quite nicely.”

Track list:

1. Once In My Life
2. Cutting Stone
3. Severed
4. Starwatcher
5. Tripping Along
6. Your Ghost
7. Everything Is Awful
8. Sucker’s Prayer
9. We All Die Young
10. Rusalka, Rusalka / The Wild Rushes
11. I’ll Be Your Girl

I’ll Be Your Girl will be the band’s first full length release since 2015’s What a Terrible World, What a Beautiful World. Visit the band’s official site to pre-order the album, purchase concert tickets, or browse the band’s new merchandise. Listen to the new surprisingly synth-y “Severed” below.

Kimbra’s “Primal Heart” Pushed Back

The release of Kimbra’s long-awaited third album, Primal Heart, has been pushed back. Originally scheduled for a January 19th launch, Kimbra announced on Instagram that the 12-track record will now come out on April 20th.

Primal Heart will indeed land in your hands this 2018 but there have been some changes to the path it will take to get there,” she shared. “In service of the long term relationship I want everyone to build with this album, plus the final tweaks I’d like to make so this music can be released at it’s very best, the new album release date will now be April 20th!”

Besides the forthcoming album, Kimbra will also release b-sides and additional tracks over the coming months. “I have plans to release more music than ever this year and I am so excited by the sheer volume of work I have for you! Leading up to the release I will be dropping a new song & video EVERY month plus I am conjuring some exciting ways for you to collaborate with me.”

To thank fans for their understanding about the album delay, those subscribed to Kimbra’s mailing list will receive a a free exclusive song titled “Hi Def Distance Romance.” “It’s one of my favs of the whole collection but for various reasons it did not make it on the final album,” she said. “I knew this song would have its moment and this feels like the perfect time to share it.” To hear the new track, visit her official website and sign up for her mailing list.

Primal Heart will be the follow-up to The Golden Echo, which was released in 2014. Primal Heart has been executive produced by Kimbra and John Congleton (St. Vincent, Goldfrapp, Blondie). Watch the video for its second single, “Top of the World,” here.